Broken Origin

The idea for the duet Broken came directly from the lyrics of one of my favorite Def Leppard’s songs, Bringin’ On Heartbreak.

Gypsy, sittin’ lookin’ pretty
The broken rose with laughin’ eyes
You’re a mystery, always runnin’ wild
Like a child without a home
You’re always searching, searching for a feeling
That it’s easy come and easy go  –  Bringin’ On The Heartbreak, Def Leppard

Even in the lyrics for Broken I make mention of another Def Leppard song, Photograph.

I wanted you to know I love the way you laugh
I wanna hold you high and steal your pain away
I keep your photograph and I know it serves me well
I wanna hold you high and steal your pain  –  Broken, Evanescence

This was not the only time I made reference to Def Leppard’s song Bringin’ On The Heartbreak, but also when I wrote Mystify for INXS

All veils and misty
Streets of blue
Almond looks
That chill divine
Some silken moment
Goes on forever
And we’re leaving broken hearts behind

Evanescence 2003 Mystery EP takes it’s name from lyrics in Def Leppard’s Bringin On The Heartbreak.  The EP  also takes it’s name from The Villa of Mysteries in Pompeii, Italy.

In 1978, The Pompeii exhibit was touring the U.S.  My parents took me to the exhibit at the Dallas Museum of Art when I was 10 years old. 

(The article to the right is a review of the exhibit in Chicago before it left for Dallas).

 I was fascinated by the exhibit and fell in love with the frescos in The Villa of Mysteries.  One particular fresco inspired Kurt Cobain’s winged mannequin on the In Utero tour.

About realamylee1234

Singer, Songwriter, Founder of Evanescence. Discovered by Joe Elliott of Def Leppard & a yet unknown Kurt Cobain May '83 at the age of 15. View all posts by realamylee1234

Leave a Reply

