Lacrymosa Origin

 I can’t change who I am.

Not this time, I won’t lie to keep you near me.

And in this short life, there’s no time to waste on giving up.

My love wasn’t enough.

As usual, I used a Def Leppard song in the lyrics.  Wasted is a song from their ’79 debut album On Through The Night.  The lyrics were a message to someone who I truly never got over having feelings for. 

Kurt Cobain’s friends in the band The Melvins had just released a song by the name Lacrimosa on their Stag album (released in ’96).  This is where the idea for the title and to use Mozart’s movement from the Requim Mass in D minor came from after I wrote the lyrics.

About realamylee1234

Singer, Songwriter, Founder of Evanescence. Discovered by Joe Elliott of Def Leppard & a yet unknown Kurt Cobain May '83 at the age of 15. View all posts by realamylee1234

Leave a Reply

