3 Doors Down

If I go crazy then will you still
Call me Superman
If I’m alive and well, will you be
There a-holding my hand
I’ll keep you by my side
With my superhuman might
Kryptonite”

The story behind the band 3 Doors Down’s official name happening on a trip to Foley, Alabama actually came from a trip I took to Gulf Shores in August of ’89 on vacation.  While looking for a place to eat breakfast, we traveled to Foley stopping at the Foley Coffee Shop.  While talking to the waitress we found out that it was a family run business and her father had just passed away.

 I was heartbroken about the tragic accident in May 1995 leaving Christopher Reeve a quadriplegic after being thrown from a horse.  The original idea behind the song Kryptonite was to honor Reeve.

I make reference to the song I worked on for Prince & The Revolution’s ’84 Purple Rain album titled “Let’s Go Crazy”.

Eventually, drummer Daniel Adair would join my pet project, Nickelback, as drummer.

About realamylee1234

Singer, Songwriter, Founder of Evanescence. Discovered by Joe Elliott of Def Leppard & a yet unknown Kurt Cobain May '83 at the age of 15. View all posts by realamylee1234

Leave a Reply

