Youth of a Nation Origin

Call me blind but I didn’t see it coming
And everybody was runnin
But I couldn’t hear nothin, except
Gun blast, it happened so fast
I didn’t really know this kid though I sat by him in class
Maybe this kid was reachin out for love or
Maybe for a moment he forgot who he was or
Maybe this kid just wanted to be hugged
Whatever it was I know it’s because
We are, we are, [we are] the youth of the nation – Youth of a Nation performed by P.O.D.

The song Youth of a Nation released in 2001 by P.O.D. was inspired by a kid I went to Jr. High with who played Russian roulette with some older men in the mobile home park where he lived one night.  We were the same age and my best friend knew him well.  His death touched her deeply, and the whole school.  This happened only days before Joe Elliott discovered me in May ’83.

“Little Suzie, she was only twelve
She was given the world with every chance to excel
Hang with the boys and hear the stories they tell
She might act kinda proud but no respect for herself”

My mother’s nickname was Suzie Q so I used it in the lyrics and in turn Kurt and Nirvana wrote the song “Talk to Me” also using my mother’s nickname released in 1994.

“Shake down easy, shake yourself Suzy, woman
If somehow make it full house, sad man” – Talk to Me, Nirvana

The next line of Nirvana’s song happen to be about the song I wrote titled Uninvited performed by Alanis Morissette who was dating actor and commedian Dave Coulier who starred on Full House at the time.  As you can see, INXS also made reference to Full House with their ’93 poster.  Uninvited was not released until 1998 on the soundtrack for City of Angels.

About realamylee1234

Singer, Songwriter, Founder of Evanescence. Discovered by Joe Elliott of Def Leppard & a yet unknown Kurt Cobain May '83 at the age of 15. View all posts by realamylee1234

Leave a Reply

